Travelogue is a celebration of the human drama played out on the public transport system in Dublin every day, and the behind-the-scenes complexity and commitment required to keep people moving.

To explore the small, undocumented tales of the daily commute, artist Theresa Nanigian embarked on a series of “residencies” across all service providers – Dublin Bus, Iarnród Éireann, Bus Éireann, Luas, taxis and dublinbikes – collecting travel stories and gathering data. The stories that emerged from this nine-month investigation are heartwarming, poignant and often hilarious. They are the quiet confessions told to taxi drivers from the back seat of the cab, stories of lost luggage and lost souls, small acts of charity and heroic gestures of empathy. Travelogue is a demonstration of the wit and humanity of the people of Dublin as they travel around the capital city.

Travelogue is posted across all forms of public transport during the first two weeks of May - on trains, trams and buses and at points where people board them.

Travelogue wouldn’t have been possible without the passengers and public transport staff who shared their stories and time so generously, and others who contributed their expertise and resources to the initiative. Special thanks go to the following people, as well as, many others whose contributions remain anonymous:

Vanessa Alvarez, Dawn Bailey, Rosemary Barton, Eugene Bent, Paul Bonner, Natalie Borey, Brian Brennan, Dervla Brophy, Dave Burleigh, Trevor Butler, Rita Butterly, Eddie Byrne, John Byrne, Joe Carrick, Derval Concannon, Joe Connor, David Costello, Timmy Daisi, Paul Deere, Paddy Devereux, David Doherty, Paddy Doherty, Jim Dolan, John Duddy, Paul Duffy, Tony Duncan, Nikki Farrell, Mic Fitzgerald,  Yvonne Fitzgerald, Eugene Forde, Kieran Forde, Joe Gallagher, Paul Gildea, Regina Greham, Eddie Halpin, Michael Harte, Paul Hayes, Seán Hyland, Mark Kelly, Peter Kennedy, Barry Kenny, Liam Kenny, Eilis Lavelle, John Lynch, Michael Mahood, Michael McCabe, Severine McCarthy, Dominic McDonagh, Caroline McIntyre, Liam Mitchell, Brendan Monahan, Fergus Murray, Cecily Napier, Claire Nidecker, Joe Nix, Leaticia Njirima, Garreth Nolan, Marc Nolan, John O’Connor, Mic O’Grady, Tony O’Hanlon, Derry O’Leary, Orla O’Neill, Dairne O’Sullivan, Eliane Pearce, Vinnie Queenan, Aiden Rath, Jacqui Rogers, Dave Rooney, Philip Ryan, Darren Salmon, Michael Sands, Michael Sheedy, John Sheridan, Janos Szaraz, Sean Taylor, Danny Vaughan, Jim Walsh,  Jaffray Wang, Wayne Wilders.

Travelogue is generously supported by its media partner, Metro Herald.

Travelogue is a public art commission by Theresa Nanigian under the Per Cent for Art Scheme, and is funded by the National Transport Authority in conjunction with Dublin City Council and Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown, Fingal and South Dublin County Councils. Many thanks go to Marian Wilson, Ruairí Ó Cuív, Orla Scannell, Ciara King and Caroline Cowley for funding the project and, enthusiastically providing guidance and support.

Travelogue was created by Theresa Nanigian, an American artist who has lived in Ireland for the last 13 years. After completing an MBA at Columbia University, Nanigian worked as a management consultant for McKinsey & Company, and later as an executive for SmithKline Beecham and American Express where she was a Senior Vice President. A desire to develop her interest in the visual arts led to her leaving that career and starting a degree in Fine Art in New York. She completed this at the Dublin Institute of Technology and, in 2004 received a Masters of Fine Art at the National College of Art & Design.

For more information on the artist, refer to

Outdoor poster design by
Propeller Design Consultants at

Website design by Claire Nidecker
clairenidecker (at)

Travelogue in situ photography by Ros Kavanagh

Copyright 2012 by Theresa Nanigian